Home > Uncategorized > Four years and a New Car

Four years and a New Car

About three weeks ago I celebrated 4 whole years in Japan.  FOUR YEARS!!  What am I still doing here?!  So, I’ve heard men often buy a new car when they go through their mid-life crisis.  Maybe missionaries have mid-ministry crises and then also buy new cars.

ORR maybe they just forget they stopped two feet behind a small rock pillar and then drive right into it.

See that tiny little stone pillar near the back of the picture...?

See that tiny little stone pillar…?

Seriously, it was the smallest accident possible.  Just a large rock and and the front of my car at about 4 mi/hr.  How does that equal enough damage to have to replace the car?!  I don’t even know.  I almost (almost) wish it weren’t such a trivial accident so that all the trouble that came afterwards would make more sense.

As it is, this most inconsequential of incidents led to about a hundred (I’m not even exaggerating) different phone calls to my insurance company, car dealers, car buyers, church friends, mechanics, road service, the city office, the ward office, my landlord…  Why are some of these things even on this list?  Why is everything always 10x more complicated in Japan?

But, as irrelevant and annoying as this all has been, even so God is blessing me. For one thing, I found the perfect replacement car.  The right size, price, age, plus it’s totally an upgrade!

I can watch TV in my car!! (While I'm stopped of course)

I can watch TV in my car!! (While I’m stopped of course)

They also gave me a loaner for free to use while all the paperwork is being finished. Not having a car before I got the loaner, however, meant I did a lot of walking.  How have I never realized how much thinking and prayer and worship you can fit into a couple of 20 minute walks every day?  As an added bonus, the weather hasn’t been too bad either, when most years early July is already waist-deep in humidity.

But now the wait is over!  Registered, payed for, and insurance all switched over, just in time for the outdoor sauna we call summer.

Introducing my new Nissan March!  ❤

IMG_0583

Kinda looks like a cross between a VW Bug and a hatchback...Or just a really big marshmallow.

Kinda looks like a cross between a VW Bug and a hatchback…Or just a really big marshmallow.

Prayers for fun, safety, and many blessings through my new car~~!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. September 2, 2015 at 8:51 pm

Leave a Reply

