Home > Daily Life, Lessons Learned > My hobbies are…

My hobbies are…

Apparently this is one of the first conversation points Japanese English students learn.  They’re always asking for and describing their hobbies with “My hobbies are etc etc etc”.  But you know, it took a while to figure out why this sounded so funny to me.  And then it hit me.  We never say “My hobbies are…” in the US, do we?  We always say “I like to…”  Even if asked, “What are your hobbies?” (which I can’t remember the last time I started a conversation with such) we still don’t answer with “They are…”  It would sound totally unnatural, no?

Anyway, all that as long-winded introduction to the realization I’ve lost all my hobbies.

I like to go on walks to the park, throw the football around, cook random foods, explore cafes, watch the Phillies, play Settlers/Monopoly Deal/whatever ridiculous game has most recently caught our fancy…  But not only do I not do any of these things anymore, they’re mostly not even possible.

No one knows how to throw a football, the Phillies (well, they’re not quite in season yet) are 14 hours behind me, I don’t live in an area with lots of parks or cafes, and the games?  Well, I’m still trying to figure out if that wasn’t something specific to Philly post-RCFers…

But cooking!  That I can do.  Granted, it takes a great deal more leg work to find the ingredients I need and at a price within my budget.  And sometimes, stuff just isn’t in my budget.  Like brown rice for $12/lb at my usual grocery store. Other times, the ingredients I need don’t seem to even exist.

But in a perverse sort of way, the extra barriers make it all the more satisfying when I manage to put together something that’s not Japanese or Japanese American and didn’t cost me $50 in groceries and gas.  So yeah, expect a few stories about my re-discovered hobby.  No, this is not going to turn into a food blog.  I’m way too lazy to accurately record all the massive adaptations I have to make in order to cook American recipes in Japan.  Plus, food blogs always seem to have beautiful pictures of really drool-inducing food, and being (at best) an indifferent photographer, I won’t even bother embarrassing myself.

I admit, a part of me feels guilty that I would endeavor in what may seem a total waste of time and money.  I mean, it’s not like I don’t like the regular food I eat – I’m totally not hating on Japanese food (which I love) or the Japanese versions of American food (some of which I like better than the original).

But I’ve determined it’ll be healthy (physically, mentally) to keep at least one hobby going.   Something that gets me thinking about something other than Kanji (Japanese Chinese characters) or cultural assimilation or what I’m going to teach at our next young adult English class.

  1. April 7, 2012 at 1:19 am

    LOVED your latest – carrot cake cupcakes with frosting. Was SO SUPER DELISH!!! I almost didn’t share… 😉 I completely approve of your hobby. Will be your guinea pig ANYtime. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

