Home > Ministry Stuff, Pictures > Gingerbread House Party! Part I

Gingerbread House Party! Part I

What actually possessed me to think this would be a good idea, I really cannot say.  Probably my first clue should have been when Susan told me she’s never done it here before.  But no, blithely naive I forged ahead to a future filled with yummy cookies, frosting, candy, and gingerbread cities.

Well, I did get most of that, but next year I might downgrade a level (or 10) to gingerbread men.  Or maybe I’ll just do sugar cookies.  Well, no matter what I do, it won’t be as much work as gingerbread houses were.

The first problem was molasses.

Beer Rabbit Molasses

I’m not even that fond of this stuff.  But gingerbread cookie recipes always seem to require it, unless you go for weird recipes that call for things like “muscavado sugar” and “golden syrup” (I’m guessing that’s different from Aunt Jemima’s pancake stuff, eh?).  Hard enough to find American foods in Japan – let’s at least buy things I’ve actually heard of.  Except that little 12oz bottle of molasses costs a whopping 720Yen which is almost $10!!!!!!  And I’ve ever only found it in one store in the entire city.  Sigh.

I do like to cook and bake and I love the smell of gingerbread that filled my apartment for the week I was makin this stuff.  But after baking out the pieces for my 7th house, I was definitely starting to seriously question my sanity.

So, I still haven’t said what I went to all this trouble for.  Well, I suppose this is what makes all that headache worth the trouble.  My English class.  My Thursday ladies English class is an absolutely delightful group of women whom I’ve really enjoyed getting to know the last few months.  For our last week of the year, I invited them all to my house for lunch and we all made our own gingerbread house.  This was the first time any of them had done it before, so they were all pretty thrilled.

Until they found out how hard it was to get the thing to stay together.

Somehow, I made the frosting a little differently this time and it wasn’t quite as sticky.  So you can imagine the chaos of roofs falling off, walls caving in, frosting EVERYWHERE.  It was a mess.  One lady in particular had a great deal of trouble, and I could feel a little knife stabbing me through the heart everytime someone else commented on how “taihen” (big trouble) this project was.  Sigh.  But in the end, Japanese perseverance prevailed and all the ladies managed to get their houses together and decorated beautifully!

Come back next time to see all the beautiful houses we put together!

Categories: Ministry Stuff, Pictures
  1. ben c.
    December 22, 2011 at 9:25 pm

    looks like so much fun!!! my brother and sister in laws family makes gingerbread houses from scratch every year! it’s so cool! and i LOOOOOVE the smell of baked goods in the house! 😀 hope you’re having a great christmas season over there! 😛

  2. December 23, 2011 at 9:57 am

    ur nuts. 🙂 meant in the nicest, loving-li-est way possible, of course. =D
    oh, and i love the snowflakes falling things going on on your blog. very christmas-y. 🙂

  3. Yukari
    December 25, 2011 at 11:03 am

    Hehehe, I made ginger bread houses for the first time last year. –And yes, it’s a LOT of work!!! Molasses is pretty stiff to work with then cutting them out and stuff requires a lot of precision. Before last year I would cheat and use graham crackers which breaks very easily when you’re working with it. But hey, it’s a great bonding activity! ;p God bless you, friend. Merry Christmas!

  4. GNa
    January 14, 2012 at 9:29 pm

    Dude, you are a baking ROCK STAR. One of the kids in my class (well, really his mom) brought in these delicious right-out-of-the-oven ginger-choc-chip cookies and of course I fell in love with them, asked for the recipe and baked them with my niece and nephew….hard work and I can’t believe you made that many WITHOUT a legit oven!! BAKING ROCK STAR. period

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

