Home > Cultural experiences, Pictures > A Japanese Apartment

A Japanese Apartment

Contrary to my prior belief that I would be living in a shoebox in Japan, my apartment here in Hiroshima is actually a great deal more spacious and comfortable than anything I was expecting.  I live in what we call a 2LDK – which is a sort of two-bedroom apartment with a combined living/kitchen/dining space.  I can really only afford this because I’m in a cheaper area of Hiroshima outside of the city.  In fact, it looks almost downright country in my immediate vicinity.  I miss being in the middle of the city but it’s nice to have peace and quiet as well.  Plus, there’s plenty of parking!  😀

So here, we are, a tour of my apartment.  You can click the pictures for the large version.  Enjoy!

So, the recycling here would put Oregonians to shame.  They separate EVERYTHING.  And it all has to be put out on different pick-up days.  For example, for a regular soda bottle, the paper wrapper, the bottle, and the cap all go in separate bags.  If I throw away my current bottle of olive oil, the paper wrapper goes out with combustibles on Tuesday or Friday, the cap goes out with soft plastics (not hard) on Wednesday, and the glass bottle goes out on the 2nd or 4th Thursday.  While the extensive consideration put into recycling is admirable, sometimes it’s just a pain.

Toilet’s however are a bit of recycling ingenuity that I much appreciate.  Toilet’s are always in a separate room.  But at the top, there’s a small faucet that starts running when you flush.  You use the water to wash your hands, and then that water refills the empty tank.  Genius!

Anyway, there’s a small look into the life of a Japanese apartment.  😀

  1. janet sung
    November 23, 2011 at 11:56 am

    wow, jess, your apartment’s pretty amazing!

  2. b. cheng
    December 11, 2011 at 8:17 pm

    your apartment looks so homey and i love all the cool machinery! 😛 your bed looks so comfy, i would never wake up! hahahaha. i was wondering what that faucet thingy was….

    super cool apartment….God always provides! 😀

  3. GNa
    January 14, 2012 at 9:30 pm

    I miss those baths/showers….will you bring a copy of that recycling schedule?!?! 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

