Home > Cultural experiences > Ordering food

Ordering food

On Tuesday, I went to lunch with the women of Scott’s Koyo Chapel English class.  I had an awesome time, however, there was one really interesting experience (at least, from an American point-of-view) that I wanted to write about.

The restaurant had two specials available, and the ladies went around and sort of collectively decided to all get the first of the two specials.  I, on the other hand, preferred the second dish, but when I told the ladies this they reacted in a way I was TOTALLY not expecting.

One of the ladies confessed she had actually wanted to try that one too, and so she announced she would be ordering the same one I was.  A second lady quickly followed suit, and within moments the entire table had decided to change their orders to the one I had picked.

o_O???

Uhh, did I miss something?  Perhaps there’s some cultural norm for ordering in groups of 6 here in Japan that I’m unaware of?  Perhaps I should have gone with the rest of the group?  Maybe this is a case of Japanese conformity?  Haha.  Anyway, I thought that was pretty funny, but if any of the English class ladies are reading this, I hope I didn’t accidentally offend anyone by choosing a different option from the group!  >_<

Categories: Cultural experiences
  1. kanako nitta
    September 25, 2011 at 8:27 am

    Hahahaha interesting!!!I don’t care about insisting my opinion in such case!
    …but yeah it depends on the situation especially with older people.
    I feel If someone treas me it’s not better to isnsist my opinion though.
    So,I don’t think your behaver offend the ladies 🙂

  2. September 26, 2011 at 8:27 am

    it’s like when koreans (real koreans ;)) go out to a restaurant and all order the same thing. jess, you’re such a rebel. =D

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

