Home > Daily Life, Lessons Learned > Relying on others

Relying on others

Praise the Lord!  I found an apartment!!  And it’s pretty perfect in terms of location, price, parking, size, etc etc etc.  I’m so thankful for God’s provision and so excited to move in!  Unfortunately, stuff like a washer, oven, AC, fridge, I have to buy all myself.  Apartments here come with practically nothing.  I even have to buy the lights – and I’m not talking light bulbs, I’m talking the actual fixture in the ceiling to which I would attach light bulbs.  And these aren’t cheap…  -__-

But the expense isn’t even the hardest part.  The hardest part is how much I have to rely on others to help me with, well, EVERYTHING.  Rental agreement stuff was all done by Pastor Haitaka and Ogawa-san.  Another lady from church, Ai-sensei, and her father Akashi-san spent ALL DAY Monday with me buying major appliance stuff like a fridge and washer and we spent over an hour trying to figure out my internet (I’m not even going to get into that right now…suffice it to say the whole business was COMPLICATED and is yet to be settled).  Yuuka-san came with me (again) to the Ward Office so I could change my living address with the government.  And the Murray’s friend Mac Okano-san is helping me find a car. I can’t even do searches on the internet because I can’t READ.

See?  Nothing on my own.  Groceries are about all I can manage and even then I sometimes still have trouble (a what?  a “poeento cawdo”?  OH, a “Point Card”.  No I don’t have one.  And no thanks, I won’t be getting one because that would undoubtedly be way more than I can handle.)

It’s really quite humbling to have to rely on others so much when I’m used to doing most everything on my own.  It’s even a little humiliating because I feel so useless, and I’m constantly fighting the fear that I won’t be worth all this trouble people are going through for me.  But I’m also so thankful God has provided such wonderful people to help me through.  I try to focus on that gratitude and pray I can be a blessing to others as they have been to me.  But it’s kinda hard when you’re making dumb mistakes like saying “bug” instead of “if”.

  1. Miriam
    August 17, 2011 at 7:20 am

    sometime you gotta let people serve you also 🙂 as hard as that many be… i miss you!!!!!!!!!!

  2. kanako nitta
    August 19, 2011 at 3:32 am

    Hi Jessica san!Oh you’re not useless at all!!!!your smile always meke me happy and am really enjyoying talk with you!you help me a lot to learn about God!So,I have to thank you a lot to come to Japan!!!

  3. clare
    August 20, 2011 at 2:43 pm

    jess, you’re such a blessing to others!! =)

  4. Grace Cho
    August 25, 2011 at 10:36 pm

    jessica! i’m glad i stumbled into this today. you are so brave to go out there.. i still remember the day you told me that here in seattle. i was like.. O,O;; but hey, you are surviving, learning, and getting to experience something TOTALLY different than what you and we all experience here in america, where english is everyone’s main language.

    we are spoiled. 🙂

    hope you continue to survive, and survive WELL!! fighting!! ^^

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

