Home > Daily Life > Crazy bugs

Crazy bugs

Sorry, I know I haven’t updated my daily pictures in a while.  Fear not!  Pictureless-ness shall not prevail!  Even when I do things like leave my camera at the Oh’s or forget to charge it, I still have pictures to post!  😀  I also have some more meaningful and thoughtful things I want to post – those I’ll save for when I have a larger proportion of brain cells functioning.  For now, I want to tell you about some of the CRAZY creatures they have here in Hiroshima.

The first day I took out the garbage I found this waiting for me.

This thing was probably close to 3in long, not including the antennae....

The next day I found a spider in my room.  When I went to kill it it started LEAPING into the air.  I settled for letting it run away.

No big deal, you say?  That’s what I said too.  And then, I heard about the Mukade: giant, Japanese, poisonous centipedes.

THANK GOD this is not my picture.

Apparently they often get into homes during the summer, are fast, large, and leave painful bites.  The best way to kill one is to pin it down with something heavy and then pour boiling water over it.   That way, you get around the flexible exoskeleton (which makes them hard to smash), and a front half that will still bite you even if chopped in half, not to mention centipede guts.  YUCK!!!  The Mukade have a reputation for charming things like climbing into your futon or falling on your head from the ceiling.  But, this is just one of those things that Japanese people get used to and (according to someone from church) one learns to make a habit of things like checking under your pillow before sleeping and looking inside your shoes before putting them on. -__-;;; Thank goodness the Murray’s haven’t had any problems with them in their home.

But, if you ever hear the distant sound of someone shrieking from across the Pacific Ocean, you’ll know I found one of these in the house and am attempting to kill it without going into full-blow hysterics.  I’ll also try to take  a picture.

Categories: Daily Life
  1. Matt
    July 15, 2011 at 9:15 am

    Looks like you have an exciting adventure full of many different things ahead of you!

  2. Abe
    July 15, 2011 at 9:18 am

    ewww gross

  3. beeberoni
    July 15, 2011 at 11:26 am

    BLEH. here in taiwan we have spiders that are bigger than my hands. and they run like the wind, so just imagine me screaming with a can of raid in my hand. that beetle thing is cool!!

  4. July 16, 2011 at 10:39 am

    there aren’t many things in this world that i use the word hate for, but centipedes + hate are definitely a combo. ugh! the one u got off the internet is kinda close to the one in our last newsletter. ugh! never seen that scary red head before. hope i never will! i guess the maggots and the ant trail weren’t exotic enough to get a mention. 🙂 the murrays house is new and it’s their first year living there so hopefully you won’t ever have to see a centipede up close! unless of course you’re at our house, where we’ve already had 3… 😦 wonder if they get centipedes in apartments too???

  1. October 7, 2011 at 4:11 am

Leave a Reply

