Home > Uncategorized > Settling in (sort of)

Settling in (sort of)

It’s sort of hard to say I’m “settling in” when I still have no car, no apartment, and I’m living out of a suitcase in the guest room at the Murray’s house… But somehow, it still feels that way – that I’m starting to get used to life here.  Or at least, as used to as anyone can be with the language skills of a 2-year-old.  I can’t believe it’s already been a whole week since I got here – feels like just yesterday I was trying to decide whether Japanese people wear rainboots or not (so far, I’ve only seen them on the kids).  It was kind of a crazy week trying to get as much done and see as much ministry as possible with the Murrays.  But now they have left for 2.5 weeks in China during which time I’ll be on my own!

So, to catch up the last few days:

Monday – the Pastors of the churches we work with and their wives threw me a welcome lunch, and it was delicious!!  Somen (cold noodles with broth and toppings) with all sorts of yummy sides.  Plus like 5 different desserts – fresh watermelon, some funny cookie thing, shucream (cream puff)…  Afterwards we had a meeting for some of the ministry stuff for the next couple of months.  I didn’t participate in this part much (well, at all…haha) since I couldn’t understand the vast majority of what was happening…

Tuesday – English class at Koyo and Kabe chapel.  Scott teaches a “mid”-level English class to several women, some of who are members of the churches, but several who are not…  😀  (DING DING DING!!  opportunity~~~~)  It was actually a ton of fun and the women were all very friendly and enthusiastic about everything.  I also got to meet my new Japanese tutor, Megumi-sensei!  I’ll introduce you more thoroughly to her another time.

Tuesday – Watched Susan Murray teach English lessons at a local pre-K school.  Wow, kids are so cute but SO LOUD.  They were like screaming the words to the songs we sang.  Apparently, large lungs are valued in Japanese children – they were definitely very genki (healthy). But next time I might take earplugs…  The Murray’s prepared to leave for China during the day and then they took me out to dinner for Kaitenzushi (conveyer belt sushi).  Now, I’ve had Kaitenzushi in the states – but not like this.  They had this crazy computer system where you entered your order into a little touchscreen at your table.  The order would go to the kitchen and then come out in specifically colored plates.  And no worries about missing your order because the computer would sing a little song when your order was approaching.  VERY high tech.  But I forgot to take my camera, so no pictures…  Sorry, next time.

Thursday – Murrays left; hung out all afternoon with the Oh’s and their two kids Juhee and Sungjae.  I’ll post a picture of them later (I was too busy playing to take any yesterday, but you can check them out at their blog!)  Kids are adorable and their parents are heroes for raising two such young children on the mission field.  Please pray for them!

Next couple of weeks I’ll be starting my own lessons with Megumi-sensei and I’ll also be helping babysit for the Oh’s as they try to finish some of their seminary requirements.  I also hope to spend more time praying for all the different ministry opportunities and possibilities here as I begin to try to answer the question “What are you going to do in Japan?”  I’ll let y’all know if I ever figure that one out.  😀

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. July 1, 2011 at 9:28 am

    =DDD Scott’s English classes at the two churches are on Tuesdays, not Mondays, and Susan’s English classes at the preschool are on Wednesdays, not Tuesdays. You met Megumi-sensei on Tuesday, like me. 🙂
    I haven’t been to Sushiro yet since they changed their ordering system – can’t wait!
    Thank you so much for babysitting Sungjae next Tues & Thurs. Couldn’t do my required classes without you!!! ❤

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

