Home > Lessons Learned > The Joys and Miseries of Raising Support

The Joys and Miseries of Raising Support

Have I ever mentioned how raising support has sorta been like taking my pride and social dignity, stabbing a skewer through it, and then roasting it over a roaring fire until well-charred?  It definitely goes in the list of “Top 5 Reasons Why I Don’t Wanna Be a Missionary” (I may discuss the other 4 another day).  I’m generally one of those do-it-yourself types, and raising support definitely goes against that.  Yeah, I know, the purpose of support isn’t just to send me, but also to teach/involve/bless the sending people at home.  Which is why I love getting your emails – it really makes me feel like that purpose is being fulfilled.  But sometimes, it just feels like I’m asking for money.  From all of your responses, I know that’s not the case.  But sometimes you can’t help how you feel, right?

And please don’t take this as some incredibly underhanded and backward way to manipulate you into giving (though if that’s what it takes… Haha, j/k!!).  I’m just being honest about how I’m feeling through all this.  And in case you noticed I sound a bit awkward when talking about raising support, that’s because I am feeling awkward when talking about support.  😛

Funnily enough, however, I don’t feel at all bad asking people to pray for me.  I throw out prayer requests like confetti at a ticker-tape parade, nevermind the Amazon is losing hundreds of acres of forest every day.  But if anything, praying for me probably takes up more time than it does to write a check or fill out credit card billing info.  And what’s more, I don’t just ask you to pray for me once.  I ask you to pray for me regularly.  And extensively.  The nerve.

Though after saying all that, I might be starting to feel guilty for all the indiscriminate broadcasting of prayer requests – no, nevermind, still gonna keep doing it.  🙂

Why?  Because I need it.  I need your prayers.  I need your financial support.  I need partners and teammates behind me, working with me at my side.  I’m too weak to do any of this on my own.  Certainly with God all things are possible, however He apparently didn’t design this whole missions thing to be carried out on our lonesome.

14 How, then, can they call on the one they have not believed in? And how can they believe in the one of whom they have not heard? And how can they hear without someone preaching to them? 15 And how can anyone preach unless they are sent? As it is written: “How beautiful are the feet of those who bring good news!” (Romans 10:14-15)

I think its clear God intends us to participate in His work not as individuals but as a team, as a group, as a church.  Which is why I’m desperate for your partnership, in all senses of the word.  Sooo, yeah – cue broken record: please support/partner with/pray for me.  🙂

Categories: Lessons Learned
  1. May 15, 2011 at 12:12 pm

    Feeling you… ^^;
    God’s doing amazing things through you already. Gambatte! ^^

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

