Home > Uncategorized > Pre-Field Connection

Pre-Field Connection

Now, I’m not one to gloat, but after practically an entire straight week of rain/hail/gloom in Seattle I can’t help but want to remind you all what 76F weather looks like.

This is the view outside of my room here in Orlando.  It’s spectacular outside.  I hope you all are enjoying your local weather as well.  😀

But no, the point of me coming to Orlando was not to enjoy 70+ weather (that’s just a most excellent perk).  Pre-field connection is training that Pioneers does for all of its “long-term” missionaries.  I’m not technically long term, but since I plan to be in Japan for more than 1 year, I get filed in under that heading and have the same requirements.  Most of the week is spent on seminars talking about team-building and church planting and we also talk about some logistics stuff like security, finances, etc.

All the seminars and such are great, but really the best part is meeting the people and hearing their stories!  Such cool stories of how God is working and showing his hand to guide different people to where they are now.  Particularly since this training is for people getting close to leaving (most everyone has an ETD of 2-6 months) it’s awesome to see how excited people are to get onto the field.  So close!!  And me too!!! Haha, it’s really starting to feel so much more real!  (Imagine me jumping up and down and waving my arms).  I hope you’ll be excited too!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Miriam
    March 9, 2011 at 9:14 am

    I’m excited!!!!!!!!!! wooooooo hoooooooo!!!! (also jumping up and down waving my arms)

  2. Abe
    March 11, 2011 at 1:06 pm

    what are your thoughts on the earthquake?

  3. tomukun
    March 11, 2011 at 1:54 pm

    始めには「なんか、その写真、日本とどの関係があるの。」と思ってちょっと知らなかったよ。最近日本語の勉強はどう、大丈夫なの?もうすぐ出発するじゃん。今からここによく戻って日本語にコメント書くから、ぜひ早く日本語の練習してください、友よ。

  4. March 11, 2011 at 2:58 pm

    nihongo wo mada dekimasen. translate-shite kudasai. kanji wo wakaranai.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment