Home > Q(uiet)T(ime) > QT: Joshua 1:5

QT: Joshua 1:5

My humblest apologies for such sad neglect of this blog.  I promise to get back to the regular destruction of fine china as soon as I have the time.  But in the meantime, I’m taking this teaching ESL certificate program: 4 classes/12 credits in four weeks.  Not bad, eh?  I’m also learning a ton, though the class unfortunately leaves me time for little else.

And lest you think I’m being so good as to continue regular QT’s despite my schedule, I must confess otherwise: this is the first semi-decent excuse for a QT I’ve made all week…  😛  But just goes to show how awesome the Bible is and how I’ve got to keep coming back to it because even after a week+ hiatus, God still teaches and blesses and encourages me.  And so I wanted to share a quick verse with you.

So, I started going through Joshua and reading commentary by John Calvin.  Great stuff, though he tends to use a fair amount of SAT/GRE (pick your poison) vocab.  Anyway, here’s Joshua 1:5 and a little of what Calvin’s got to say about it.  I won’t comment much except to say that Calvin describes me to a T and I am especially encouraged now by God’s promises to Joshua.

Joshua 1:5 – “No man shall be able to stand before you all the days of your life. Just as I was with Moses, so I will be with you. I will not leave you or forsake you.”

Calvin: “…Hence the Apostle, (Hebrews 13:5,) when wishing to draw off believers from avarice, makes an application of these words for the purpose of calming down all anxieties, and suppressing all excessive fears. And in fact, the distrust which arises from anxiety kindles in us such tumultuous feelings that on the least appearance of danger, we turmoil and miserably torment ourselves until we feel assured that God both will be with us and more than suffice for our protection. And, indeed, while he prescribes no other cure for our timidity, he reminds us that we ought to be satisfied with his present aid.”

Categories: Q(uiet)T(ime)
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

