Home > Uncategorized > Pharewell to Philadelphia Phood and PHRIENDS

Pharewell to Philadelphia Phood and PHRIENDS

One of the things that I’ve always loved, and will now miss, the most about Philly is the food. All sorts and varieties, small snacks and huge meals, desserts, gourmet, food truck – you name it, Philly likely has it and probably within a reasonable walking distance too.  But for all my warm and tender feelings, Philly restaurants did anything but endear me to them this last week. I’ve never really considered myself unlucky, but my luck really reached an all time low as I tried to go to some of my favorite restaurants.

On Monday I went to Beau Monde – but it’s closed on Monday. On Tuesday I tried to go to Kanella – but it’s closed on Tuesday. That evening I tried Monk’s, but they had the front half of the restaurant closed for a private event creating a 45 min wait for two at barely 6pm. Then Wednesday my visit to John’s Roast Pork was waylaid by a snowstorm that closed the restaurant just late enough for me to witness them finishing cleaning the kitchen.  Thursday, the rib sandwich joint at Reading Terminal was closed and the Dutch Eating Place wasn’t even serving breakfast!!  Even the random visit to Las Bugambilias didn’t work – they’re closed for lunch on Mondays.

Grumblegrumblegrumble…  It’s a true testament of my love and loyalty to Philly that I still will miss the city of brotherly love.

But all joking (and hunger) aside, the last two and a half weeks were wonderful. I have rarely experienced such blessing and encouragement from so many people.  From my first support group meeting (awesome) to one-on-one dinners (YUMM) to the retreat last weekend (God is so good), over and over again I was reminded of the true reason for which I am going to miss Philly.  The city of Phileo has really shown me just that: brotherly love shining through those around me and reminding me every day of how wonderful our God is.  For how else could I have such wonderful people around me?

And so I want to thank you all, not just the people I hang out with regularly, but everyone who I have ever interacted with in Philadelphia.  You have been a marvelous part of my journey, and I hope you’ll continue it with me these coming years.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Abe
    February 2, 2011 at 4:00 pm

    Awesome entry. But were the “ph’s” really necessary?

  2. janet sung
    February 3, 2011 at 12:42 am

    omg hahahaha wow that’s so funny. that is seriously a crazy week! =)

  3. yohan
    February 3, 2011 at 10:25 am

    So dramatic. Haha

  4. ben c
    February 4, 2011 at 2:17 pm

    awww your phriends in Philly will miss you too and always welcome you back home phor all your phood cravings! have phun and be blessed with japan!

    • Abe
      February 4, 2011 at 5:37 pm

      i suppose ben’s comment was coming…

      • February 4, 2011 at 5:40 pm

        c’mon now, don’t hate on the ph’s! 😛

      • ben c
        February 4, 2011 at 8:09 pm

        pher reals! dont be hatin’! we’re all one big phamily! 😛 ph’s are phun! hahaha.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

