Home > Lessons Learned > Lessons Learned: Be a Light

Lessons Learned: Be a Light

Earlier this year, I had a conversation with a group of people, mostly non-Christians.  I didn’t really know anyone so I just sat listening.  But when the topic turned to Christianity it became clear that several of them had real problems against Christianity, primarily because of Christians.

Not that the sentiment really surprised me.  But I thought what a shame it was that people in a country with so many Christians did not see God’s love.  But then one of them started to defend Christianity and its beliefs and somehow the conversation led to him telling the whole gospel story there at the table!

!!!

I was pretty impressed with his nerve.  Especially considering I went the way of the chicken and uttered hardly a peep the entire conversation (insert: prayer for boldness).  Not to say that the everyone immediately got onto their knees right then and there and confessed Jesus as Lord or anything.  But it impressed me how this guy took the opportunity to share.  He didn’t hesitate to tell people what he believed in, no matter how offensive it was to them.

And then I thought of the Japanese, where there are no Christians in the first place.  And I got my first inkling of why God is calling me, or anyone, to missions.  It’s hard enough for people to come to know Christ in places like the US where there is a church (or five) every square mile.  But what about in a place like Japan where you could walk around all day and not run into a single Christian?  How would these people ever hear the gospel without someone telling them?  And how would they ever know how awesome the gospel is without someone living it next to them?

I think this is why I am going to Japan.  Not to hand out tracks on the street, or do Jesus skits in the malls (though I’m sure I’ll do some of that too).  I’m going to Japan to love God with all my heart and to love my neighbor as myself.  And in that way I hope to be a light, to be a flame, to shine to those in the darkness.

Categories: Lessons Learned
  1. Abe
    January 21, 2011 at 4:08 pm

    praise God! (mark cheng style)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

